this is a clickable map.

The Texts:

The texts to the first 34 Nancy Drew books come in two versions--original and revised. The original texts were 25 chapters and around 200 plus pages. Original texts too, included prejudices and stereotyping of the times. The main reason for the revising of these books was actually monetary and is documented in the business files of the Stratemeyer Syndicate files at the NYPL--it was cheaper for Grosset & Dunlap to publish books with less pages and there were worn printing plate issues that also were a factor in some changes over time. Beginning in 1959, the texts were revised over a period of time up until 1977. The revisions have a format of 20 chapters and around 180 pages. The revisions shortened the books and left out a lot of the prejudices and stereotypes from the original text volumes and really homogenized the characters. Slang was removed in some instances that was outdated and also things like "electric lights." In revising the first 34 books, they also quickened the pace of the texts. The originals really develop the story, the scenes, and the characters in much more detail than do the revised texts. Consequently, most collectors who grew up with the originals would not have the revised texts for anything! Those who grew up reading the revised texts, and probably not realizing they were revised, are enjoying the originals as well but tend to sometimes prefer the revisions they grew up with. For an analysis of the originals and the revisions, visit the Nancy Drew Revealed section for the article, Revising an Original which compared the original text of The Secret of the Old Clock to the revised text.

Volume #'s 35-56 were issued with only one text--of 20 chapters and 180 or so pages. These were never revised--they were written at the same time as the other volumes were being revised, so there was no need for a revision.

In her Girl Sleuth on the Couch, Betsy Caprio notes that there were 8 volumes that were revised and all new stories were written. For example, in volume #4, The Mystery at Lilac Inn, in the original, the inn itself was only the scene of a purse theft. In the revised, it was the scene for the mystery--many activities revolved around the inn. Some of the characters were changed as well. These were volume #'s 2, 4-5, 11-12, 14, 17-18.

There were 6 with minor title changes--volume #'s 5, 10, 17-18, 23, and 29. These minor changed include dropping a 'the' or changing an 'at' to an 'of'. In my reading and re-reading of the original v. revised texts, I have noted that although those 8 previously mentioned volumes were revised with virtually all new stories, all of the other revisions had some added or subtracted plot elements and scenes as well.

The following table notes which years that the original texts of volume #'s 1-34 were revised. Also an '*' by a volume number means that is a text that when revised was substantially changed with an all new story. A '+' sign next to a volume number indicates that when it was revised there was a minor title change.

Volumes: Revision Date:
1 1959
2* 1959
3 1960
4* 1961
5* + 1965
6 1961
7 1962
8 1968
9 1968
10 + 1966
11* 1965
12* 1972
13 1974
14* 1970
15 1972
16 1969
17* + 1976
18* + 1971
19 1969
20 1972
21 1970
22 1973
23 + 1973
24 1977
25 1967
26 1967
27 1967
28 1968
29 + 1968
30 1969
31 1974
32 1974
33 1975
34 1975

The Authors:

The following table notes the authors for each text, 'O' being for original text and 'R' being for revised text. Note: On revisions, I have included who wrote the adaptation, Harriet Adams revised for the most part and or edited most of the revisions, with help from other various individuals on certain volumes. If you are interested in learning more about Mildred A. Wirt Benson, who ghosted 23 of the original text Nancy Drew books, visit the Mildred A. Wirt Benson Website.

Volumes: Authors:
1 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
2 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
3 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
4 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
5 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Grace Grote
6 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
7 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
8 O: Walter Karig
R:Harriet Adams
9 O: Walter Karig
R:Patricia Doll
10 O: Walter Karig
R:Patricia Doll
11 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
12 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Grace Grote
13 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
14 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
15 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
16 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
17 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
18 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Harriet Adams
19 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
20 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
21 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
22 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
23 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
24 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
25 O:Mildred A. Wirt
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
26 O:George Waller, Jr.(Harriet Adams)
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
27 O:Margaret Scherf
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
28 O:Wilhelmina Rankin
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
29 O:Alma Sasse
R:Ann Shultes
30 O:Mildred A. Wirt Benson
R:Pricilla Baker-Carr
31 O:Harriet Adams
R:June Dunn
32 O:Charles Strong
R:Ann Shultes
33 O:Harriet Adams
R:Ann Shultes
34 O:Harriet Adams
R:Mary Fisher
35 Harriet Adams
36 Harriet Adams
37 Harriet Adams
38 Harriet Adams
39 Harriet Adams
40 Harriet Adams
41 Harriet Adams
42 Harriet Adams
43 Harriet Adams
44 Harriet Adams
45 Harriet Adams
46 Harriet Adams
47 Harriet Adams
48 Harriet Adams
49 Harriet Adams
50 Harriet Adams
51 Harriet Adams
52 Harriet Adams
53 Harriet Adams
54 Harriet Adams
55 Harriet Adams
56 Harriet Adams

Copyright © 2001-2011 by Jennifer Fisher. All Rights Reserved. Nancy Drew® and the Hardy Boys® are registered trademarks of Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved. This site is neither affiliated with nor endorsed by Simon & Schuster, Inc. Any of Simon & Schuster's Copyright material appearing on this site complies with fair or acceptable use principles established in U.S. and International copyright law for the purpose of review, study, criticism, or news reporting.